The Senate is the GPSF’s legislative body and is overseen by the Vice President of Internal Affairs (VPIA). This forum seeks to discuss and reach consensus about graduate/professional student issues, and also to award funds for events and travel. Each degree-granting graduate program and professional school may have up to two representatives in the Senate. Consistent Senate attendance enables each department/program to receive end-of-year monetary allocations for its own social events.

All students and members of the public are invited to attend the monthly meetings to learn more about what’s happening on campus. Or, you can become a senator yourself and be the voice of your department! Each department has its own process: some hold elections, while others solicit volunteers. Check with your  departmental graduate/professional student association, administrative assistant, or Director of Graduate Studies to learn more.

Email Brian Coussens (, the 2016-2017 VPIA with questions, or to let us know who your department’s Senators are this year.

Meeting Times (unless otherwise indicated)
Date: 1st Tuesday of every month, September through April (in January and April, the meeting is on the 2nd Tuesday).
Time: 5:30-7:00pm
Location: Kerr Hall, room 1001
Parking: Available in the Pharmacy School Parking Garage off of McCauley St.

Senate Committees

Senate Agendas, Minutes, and Documents

 Senators by Department

Advanced Dental Education Tenzin Dadul | Sehrish Javaid
American Studies Charlotte Fryar
Anthropology Kailey Rocker | Eric Thomas
Applied Physical Sciences Ryan Fox | Xiao You
Art Aaron Ambroso (temporary)
Biochemistry and Biophysics Edhriz Siraliev-Perez | Jared Baisden
Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Dan Oreper | Kimiko Suzuki
Biology Nicholas Levis
Biomedical and Health Informatics (MPS) Dobgima Njinimbam
Biomedical Engineering Gloria Nyankima
Biostatistics Sri Kalyanaraman | Nicole Butera
Business Administration – PhD Ayana Younge
Business Administration – MBA Josephine Warshauer
Business – Master of Accounting (MAcc) Vicky Bham
Cell Biology and Physiology Vicki Bartsch | Yitong Li
Chemistry Alexandra Sullivan | Mac Gilliland
City and Regional Planning Ally Clonch | Katharine Baumann-Mitchell
 Classics Katelin McCullough | Melanie Godsey
Communication Studies Emily Brennan Moran | Eileen Hammon
Computer Science Alex Bate
Dentistry (DDS) Kwame Gyampo
Dramatic Art Vacant
Ecology Catie Alves
Economics Ayushi Singh | Andrey Minaev
Education Jorge Pradilla
English and Comparative Literature Hannah Palmer
Environmental Sciences and Engineering Kasia Grzebyk
Epidemiology Stephanie DeLong | Shahar Shmuel
Exercise and Sports Science Clay Pfeifler
Folklore Zoe van Buren
Genetics and Molecular Biology Kathryn Headley | Michelle Hoffner
Geography Varun Goel | Doug Hopping | Angus Lyall
 Geological Sciences Tim Ronan | David Greenawald
Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literature Vacant
Global Studies Stephanie Metzen | Omar Santillan
Health Behavior Christine Walsh
Health Policy and Management Jordan Massey | Nicolas Hernandez
History Mark Hornburg
Human Movement Science (HMSC) Eric Trexler | Jordan Lee
Information and Library Sciences Alyssa Spoonts
Journalism and Media Shannon Zenner | Deanna Puglia
Law (JD) Justin Mims | Kayla Rowsey
Linguistics Anissa Neal
Marine Sciences Carly Moreno
Maternal and Child Health Zainab Alidina | Fekir Negussie
Mathematics Holly Arrowood | Sterling Swygert
Medicine Sarah Jones | Jasmine Sinkhada 
Microbiology and Immunology Andrew Perault | Clare Gyorke
Musicology Meg Orita | David VanderHamm
Neuroscience Shaili Jha | Jesse Niehaus
Nursing Lindsey Horrell | Shannon Runion
Nutrition Michael Essman
Occupational Therapy Richelle Suttle | Sara Peña
Pathology Rachel Dee | Katie Stember
Pharmaceutical Sciences (PhD) Ryan Hickson
Pharmacology Orrin Stone | Peyton Bohnsack
Pharmacy (PharmD) Jack Ledford
Philosophy Min Tang
Physical Therapy Keeli Tritz | Nikki Mogensen
Physician Assistant Johnny Pitts
Physics and Astronomy Rohan Isaac
Political Science Lucia Bird
Psychology Sarah Owens
Public Administration Stephanie Watkins-Cruz | Toney Thompson
Public Health Leadership Nae Won | Bo Nebolisa
Public Policy Dillan Bono-Lunn
Rehabilitation Counseling and Psychology Jaclyn Jacobs | Lauren Fadem
Religious Studies Candace Buckner | Nathan Schradle
Romance Studies Alessia Martini | Giuliano Migliori
Social Work Caroline Miller
Sociology Nathan Dollar
Speech and Hearing Sciences Celicia Benitez | Caroline Traub
Statistics and Operations Research Suman Chakraborty
Toxicology (PhD) Kimberly Stratford | Brett Winters
Toxicology (MPS) Aubree Honcoop


Senate Minutes and Documents, 2016-2017

September 6, 2016: Minutes, Resolutions: 16-01, 16-02, 16-03, 16-04, 16-05

October 4, 2016: Minutes, Resolutions: 16-06, 16-07, 16-08, 16-09, 16-10, 16-11, 16-12, 16-13

Emergency Vote: Fee Increase (16-14)

November 1, 2016: Minutes, Resolutions: 16-15, 16-16, 16-17

December 6, 2016: Minutes, Resolutions: 16-18, 16-19, 16-20, 16-21, 16-22, 16-23, 16-24, 16-25, 16-26

January 17, 2017: Minutes, Resolution: 17-01

February 7, 2017: Minutes, Resolutions: 17-02, 17-03, 17-04, 17-05, 17-06, 17-07, 17-08, 17-09, 17-10, 17-1117-1217-13

March 7, 2017: Agenda, Resolutions: 17-14, 17-15, 17-16, 17-17, 17-18, 17-19, 17-20, 17-21, 17-22


Senate Archives

Print Friendly