Skip to main content

The Senate is the GPSF’s legislative body and is overseen by the Vice President of The GPSF. This forum seeks to discuss and reach consensus about graduate/professional student issues, and also to award funds for events and travel. Consistent Senate attendance enables each department/program to receive an end-of-year monetary allocation for its own social events.

All students and members of the public are invited to attend the monthly meetings. Email Kat Furtado, the 2020-2021 VP, with any questions or concerns.

Meeting Times (unless otherwise indicated)
Date: 1st Tuesday of every month, September through April (in January and April, the meeting is on the 2nd Tuesday).
Time: 5:30pm
Location: Zoom

Senate Committees

All legislation, minutes, and archival information can be found at the GPSF archives. Any questions regarding Senate Committees over the Summer should be directed to the Summer Governance Chair, Jamshaid Shahir.


Name Department Email
Emma Warhover (Chair) Classics
Alexander Simmons Health Policy and Management
Ansley Birchmore Public Administration
Lindsay Ratner Pharmacy
Michael Greenberger Political Science
Jacob Newton Public Administration/City and Regional Planning

Resolutions Development

Name Department Email
Zachary Boyce (Chair) Law
Aryssa Simpson Biomedical Engineering
Joey Richards Communication Studies
Kathleen Hillis City and Regional Planning
Sarah Cheek Social Work
Kat Furtado Microbiology and Immunology

Travel Awards

Name Department Email
Jamshaid Shahir (Chair) Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Adlai Lang Classics
Alexandria Huber Public Policy
Eugenia Wong Epidemiology
Marshall Fritz Pharmaceutical Sciences
Kat Furtado Microbiology and Immunology


Name Department Email
Camille Wilson (Chair) Exercise and Sports Science
Aleah Bailey Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Berkley Wood Environmental Science and Engineering
Betty Martinez Nursing
Josie Mueller Social Work
Maian Adams Law


Name Department Email
Samuel Ingalls (Chair) Public Administration
Nicholas Lauersdorf Applied Physical Sciences
Pasuth Thothaveesansuk History
Sarah Sutton Chemistry
William Langford Public Policy
Jacob Newton Public Administration/City and Regional Planning

Oversight and Advocacy

Name Department Email
Devon Maloney (Chair) Geography
Amy Glazier Physics and Astronomy
Irene Newman American Studies
Jonathan Schlosser Journalism and Media
Laetitia Meyrueix Nutrition
Maian Adams Law

Senate Minutes and Documents

July 2020

September 2020