The Senate is the GPSF’s legislative body and is overseen by the Vice President of The GPSF. This forum seeks to discuss and reach consensus about graduate/professional student issues, and also to award funds for events and travel. Consistent Senate attendance enables each department/program to receive an end-of-year monetary allocation for its own social events.

All students and members of the public are invited to attend the monthly meetings. Email Michelle Hoffner O’Conner, the 2018-2019 VP, with any questions or concerns.

Meeting Times (unless otherwise indicated)
Date: 1st Tuesday of every month, September through April (in January and April, the meeting is on the 2nd Tuesday).
Time: 5:30pm
Location: Kerr Hall, room 2001
Parking: Available in the Pharmacy School Parking Garage off of McCauley St.


Senate Committees

All legislation, minutes, and archival information can be found at the GPSF archives.

Appropriations

Contact GPSF Jeff Ehrhardt (gpsftreasurer@unc.edu) with questions; the Appropriations Committee will be called to order after the September 6 Senate Meeting.

Name Department Email
Jacob Griffin Anthropology jgriff55@live.unc.edu
Samantha Reidy Pharmacy sreidy@live.unc.edu
Jay Havaldar Math shreyhav@live.unc.edu
Max Reason Sociology mreason@live.unc.edu
Chad Lloyd Marine Science lloydbr@live.unc.edu

Resolutions Development

Name Department Email
Meli Blake Kimathi Communications mem@live.unc.edu
Kat Furtado BBSP kfurtado@unc.edu
Winston Hanks Law (JD) whanks@live.unc.edu
Henry Goodell Biomedical Engineering goodell@email.unc.edu
Richard Carey Public Administration richard.carey@unc.edu
Michelle Hoffner O’Conner Genetics michhoff@email.unc.edu

Travel Awards

Name Department Email
Viren Makhijani Neuroscience viren@email.unc.edu
Fatima Guerrab Health Behavior fatimag@live.unc.edu
Sandeep Kandikupa Ecology ksandeep@live.unc.edu
Jasmine Yang Statistics and Op. Res. ly84@live.unc.edu
Bryanna Lloyd Classics lloydbr@live.unc.edu

SOGAPS

Name Department Email
Cortland Gilliam Education cgilliam@live.unc.edu
Nur Shahir Bioinformatics nmshahir@ad.unc.edu
Christine Walsh Health Behavior chriseli@live.unc.edu
Jennifer Latimer Dramatic Arts jlat@live.unc.edu
Eli LoCicero Economics elijl@live.unc.edu

Finance

Name Department Email
Colton Richardson Acccounting Colton_Richardson@kenan-flagler.com
Paul Liu City and Regional Plan. liupaul@live.unc.edu
Sarah Sutton Chemistry scsutt@live.unc.edu
Clare Gyorke Micro & Immuno. clareeli@email.unc.edu
Katie Hargreaves Social Work kkmarie@live.unc.edu
Jeff Ehrhardt Chemistry ksandeep@live.unc.edu

Advocacy and Oversight

Name Department Email
Marguerite ‘Bree’ Little Pharmacology mblittle@email.unc.edu
Grace Di Cecco Biology gdicecco@live.unc.edu
Ryan Collins Law (JD) rmcollin@live.unc.edu
Calvin Deutschbein Computer Science cd@cs.unc.edu
Mark Reeves History mlreeves@live.unc.edu

Senate Minutes and Documents

September 2018

October 2018

November 2018

December 2018

January 2019

February 2019

March 2019