Skip to main content

The Senate is the GPSF’s legislative body and is overseen by the Vice President of The GPSF. This forum seeks to discuss and reach consensus about graduate/professional student issues, and also to award funds for events and travel. Consistent Senate attendance enables each department/program to receive an end-of-year monetary allocation for its own social events.

All students and members of the public are invited to attend the monthly meetings. Email Kat Furtado, the 2020-2021 VP, with any questions or concerns.

Meeting Times (unless otherwise indicated)
Date: 1st Tuesday of every month, September through April (in January and April, the meeting is on the 2nd Tuesday).
Time: 5:30pm
Location: Zoom


Senate Committees

All legislation, minutes, and archival information can be found at the GPSF archives. Any questions regarding Senate Committees over the Summer should be directed to the Summer Governance Chair, Jamshaid Shahir.

Appropriations

Name Department Email
Emma Warhover (Chair) Classics emmanw@live.unc.edu
Alexander Simmons Health Policy and Management alexes@live.unc.edu
Ansley Birchmore Public Administration abirchm@email.unc.edu
Lindsay Ratner Pharmacy lindsay_ratner@unc.edu
Michael Greenberger Political Science michael.greenberger@unc.edu
Jacob Newton Public Administration/City and Regional Planning newton@unc.edu

Resolutions Development

Name Department Email
Zachary Boyce (Chair) Law zacrboy@email.unc.edu
Aryssa Simpson Biomedical Engineering aryssas@email.unc.edu
Joey Richards Communication Studies josephri@live.unc.edu
Kathleen Hillis City and Regional Planning kghillis@email.unc.edu
Sarah Cheek Social Work sarah711@live.unc.edu
Kat Furtado Microbiology and Immunology kfurtado@unc.edu

Travel Awards

Name Department Email
Jamshaid Shahir (Chair) Bioinformatics and Computational Biology jashahir@live.unc.edu
Adlai Lang Classics adlai@live.unc.edu
Alexandria Huber Public Policy aghuber@live.unc.edu
Eugenia Wong Epidemiology eugenia7@live.unc.edu
Marshall Fritz Pharmaceutical Sciences mfritz8@live.unc.edu
Kat Furtado Microbiology and Immunology kfurtado@unc.edu

SOGAPS

Name Department Email
Camille Wilson (Chair) Exercise and Sports Science camilley@email.unc.edu
Aleah Bailey Biological and Biomedical Sciences ambails@email.unc.edu
Berkley Wood Environmental Science and Engineering berkleyw@live.unc.edu
Betty Martinez Nursing bmartine@live.unc.edu
Josie Mueller Social Work ajmuell4@live.unc.edu
Maian Adams Law lopian@live.unc.edu

Finance

Name Department Email
Samuel Ingalls (Chair) Public Administration smings@live.unc.edu
Nicholas Lauersdorf Applied Physical Sciences njlauers@email.unc.edu
Pasuth Thothaveesansuk History pasuth@live.unc.edu
Sarah Sutton Chemistry scsutt@live.unc.edu
William Langford Public Policy wsl3476@email.unc.edu
Jacob Newton Public Administration/City and Regional Planning newton@unc.edu

Oversight and Advocacy

Name Department Email
Devon Maloney (Chair) Geography dvm@live.unc.edu
Amy Glazier Physics and Astronomy aglazier@unc.edu
Irene Newman American Studies inewman@email.unc.edu
Jonathan Schlosser Journalism and Media jschloss@live.unc.edu
Laetitia Meyrueix Nutrition lmeyruei@email.unc.edu
Maian Adams Law lopian@live.unc.edu

Senate Minutes and Documents

July 2020

September 2020